President's Award

The President's Award is given to a person who has made outstanding and sustained contributions to the field over the course of many years. The recipient is selected by three people - the past [chair], present and future presidents - and is given once every three years.

The first award was presented to Dave Swofford in 1998. Systematists of a certain age will fondly remember the happy times spent resetting the date on their Macs in order to squeeze a little more life out of their beta copies of PAUP*.

(Image from Florida State University)

The second award was presented to Joe Felsenstein in 2002. Joe is the author of the PHYLIP package, the book
Inferring Phylogenies
(2004), and a pioneer in the use of statistical methods in phylogenetics.

(Image from Washington University)